RSS

The Tightwad Gazette

23 May

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=thkacozo-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0375752250&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrOne of the most influencial people in my Frugal Life has been Amy Dacyczyn.  About 20 years ago, I was a young, Very young, house wife.  My Mom saw the difficulties we were going through financially, and blessed me with the first book.  After reading The Tightwad Gazette, I no longer looked at our financial struggles as a horrible ordeal, but rather a challenge!  If she could do it, so could I! 

Her every day, commen sense approach to saving money has stuck with me throughout the years.  There have been times when I have been extravagant in spending, only to very quickly regret it.  Yes, I believe in spoiling myself and my family, but do I need to spend 100 times the amount to feel the satisfaction? The answer is a resounding NO!

My darling Husband after 6 years of marriage finally found the meaning to living a frugal, fun lifestyle.  He demonstrated it by taking me on a fabulous Staycation this past weekend.  We enjoyed the sites, sounds, theater and art of Houston, and the only thing we paid for was lunch! (less than $20)  It was the most amazing anniversary we have ever had. 

My hope is that you will be able to read these books and glean a little from them to use in your every day life.  Have fun, and stay in The Zone!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
