RSS

Who Moved My Cheese?

28 Jun

I don’t know about you guys, but when I first started Extreme Couponing, I really thought I had everything together.  I’m talking, I had my binder, all my coupons, my places to cut and store the coupons…everything…One thing I didn’t anticipate was the rest of my life getting in the way of my couponing adventures!

I am a go-getter by nature.  When I find something I love, I go full steam ahead, almost immediately.  My family has learned that during those moments, they hang on for dear life as I blaze my new trail of adventures!

I adore that about them, but I have had to stop and think…do they adore that about me?

This week, I have decided to slow down a bit in my couponing adventures, to take notice of my Husband and children and to get a real sense of how they feel about Mommy’s new adventure.

In doing so, I have discovered that if I slow down, ask questions and join in their adventures, we have a lot more fun.  They love finding deals with me, and my Husband loves seeing the savings, but what they ‘Adore’ about me is my time.

So as I have been scurrying around like the two little mice in this book, and becoming content with all my couponing successes, my Dad comes along and moves my cheese.  

(He wrote about it in Proverbs 31.  I don’t think that woman really exists, but I truly feel the need to move in the direction of at least a few of those characteristics.)
Who Moved My Cheese? features four characters: two mice, “Sniff” and “Scurry,” and two little people, miniature humans in essence, “Hem” and “Haw.” They live in a maze, a representation of one’s environment, and look for cheese, representative of happiness and success. Initially without cheese, each group, the mice and humans, paired off and traveled the lengthy corridors searching for cheese. One day both groups happen upon a cheese-filled corridor at “Cheese Station C”. Content with their find, the humans establish routines around their daily intake of cheese, slowly becoming arrogant in the process.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
