RSS

How to Get a Free QR Code

29 Feb

Scan me to go directly to the QR Generator Page

You see them every where now, from your pizza box to your direct mail piece. You click on one, and it takes you to a video describing your anticipated experience of the item you are curious about. It feels almost like we are in the days of Star Trek sometimes. “Hey, Spock, scan that rock and tell me what kind it is?” Well, we can do that now with apps like Google Goggles, but that’s not what I am talking about today. I’m talking about the cute little QR codes that teach us all about the products they are stuck on.

Yesterday I was on a mission to create a really cool marketing piece for my girlfriends company, something they could hand out and let it tell the story. Every one in their office said it needed to be very, very clean. So what I needed was a way to tell the story without really saying a word in print. That’s when I started looking for how to create a QR code. My research brought me to QR Stuff. I was able to link the company’s web site to the QR code it created for me, within seconds. I pasted it into the handout I had created, and the office loved it!  Best of all, it was totally free.

Here is an idea, rather than sending out the same old boring Christmas card this year, with the ugly sweaters that everyone sticks in a drawer or box, send them a Talking Christmas Card. Do a 2 minute video of what’s been going on with the family throughout the year, show Janie’s missing tooth, and Ryan’s baseball trophy. Save the video to a QR code, and have it put on a sticker or the card itself. I bet your rival Sister-in-Law will be puddling to the floor in sheer dismay when she receives it in the mail.

Well, have fun creating your own QR code…I have now created one for just about everything you can imagine!!

Here is one to my blog.  Just use your QR scanner on your smart phone and click away!   Well, I hope you enjoyed the blog, I enjoyed writing it for you.  Try not to get too sidetracked making QR codes for everything.  Have an incredible day and…stay in the ZONE!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 29, 2012 in Tightwad Tips

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “How to Get a Free QR Code

  1. finefrugality

    February 29, 2012 at 8:21 am

    I totally LOVE the Christmas card idea!! What a great post. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • The Katy Coupon Zone

      February 29, 2012 at 8:31 am

      Good morning. I just thought that was the coolest thing. Have fun with it. I know I did.
      Patti

       

Leave a Reply

 
