RSS

Magical Milk Made From Golden Cows?

05 Mar

I know I’m not alone when it comes to cringing every time our family runs out of milk. With 3 teenagers at home, we go through it pretty quickly.  I normally have to budget about $20 a month, just to keep it in the fridge.  Some of the prices I have seen lately have made me nauseous.   One brand (I won’t name names) is over $6 per gallon…SIX DOLLARS PER GALLON! There have been times when I have been able to find store brands for less than $3, but not often.

I just want to know one thing….do these dairys that charge $6 per gallon have Magical Milk Made from Golden Cows???

This week, the best deal I have found on Milk is at Walgreens for $3.19.  Yes, that is almost 50% less than the big brand milk, but for me, it is still too darn high.

I would love to start a Milk Index, to keep track of the price of milk, so we can know when the best time to purchase and freeze it would be.  Another purpose is to get an idea of what the prices are like in different regions.  In order to do this, I need your help!  Would you consider replying to this post and letting me know how much the Highest and Lowest milk prices are in your area? You can be part of the Milk Index!  We can do this weekly on Mondays, and keep each other informed of the best places to purchase milk so we can all cut down on this ridiculously priced necessity.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2012 in Tightwad Tips

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Magical Milk Made From Golden Cows?

  1. colleen

    March 5, 2012 at 9:02 am

    CVS has an ECB deal this week on milk. Sale price is $3.19 with $1 ECB, so it’s like paying $2.19. Limit is 2 ECB deals per card per household. I plan on picking up 2 gallons this week. My mom used to always keep a gallon of milk in the freezer. I know it’s crazy, but milk is one of those things you can freeze. I don’t have enough freezer space to put one away for future, so I’ll be digging in the back of the fridge for the gallon with the latest expiration date!

     
    • The Katy Coupon Zone

      March 5, 2012 at 9:07 am

      Colleen, you are wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing this Milk Deal! I don’t know how I missed it. I’m so glad you are here to contribute excellent in tell.
      If you find any more great deals, please feel free to share!
      Patti

       
  2. Alli

    March 5, 2012 at 9:53 am

    I would stock up when milk is around 2.50, which is so infrequent these days. $4.00 is too much for me. But I’ve NEVER had luck freezing milk. Is there a trick of which I’m not aware??

     
    • The Katy Coupon Zone

      March 6, 2012 at 9:25 am

      Hey Alli, I haven’t seen milk at $2.50 in along time! A good tip for freezing milk is to open it and pour out a bit, because the bottle expands and makes a mess. You can even pour it into smaller containers and freeze that way you don’t have to try and thaw that huge block of frozen milk all at one time. Oh, and remember to mix it well once it is thawed.

       

Leave a Reply

 
