RSS

Thrift Store Super Find of the Day!

14 Mar

Our family loves the thrift store!  My kids have been going to them with me for years, and agree that it is much more fun to pay 10% the cost of a product rather than 100%, especially when it comes to spending their own money. Today, I stopped in to see if I could find any more Tupperware for my super clean pantry.  I am normally able to find it for a buck or 2 per piece.  But today, there were no bowls to be found.  Instead, I found The Perfect Brownie Pan!  If you are wondering why I’m so excited, it’s because my 17 year old has asked for one for 2 years now, and I could never bring myself to pay $20 for a single pan that wasn’t a top shelf brand.

There it was, right next to the old nasty looking pot without a handle.  A ‘brand new’ Perfect Brownie Pan with all the parts.  It looked like it had never been used!  I turned it over and found the price tag…$2 dollars!!  Woo Hoo!  Of course it had to come home with me.  I was so excited to show my teen, the one that has asked for one for 2 years.  I totally expected a big “Oh Mom, You’re the greatest!” or something to that effect.  Instead, I get an, “oh, that’s nice”.  Really?

Her response, and lack of enthusiasm completely reinvigorated my stance on second hand shopping.  Obviously, she was only hyped up about it around Christmas time, because of the commercials.  Now, when we are in March, and it is from the thrift store, it was no big deal.

Well, I’m off to make some perfect brownies…with my new toy!

Thank you for taking the time to visit The Katy Coupon Zone, blogged straight from Katy, TX A.K.A…God’s Country!

Happy couponing and…stay in the ZONE!

Warning: Extreme Couponing may become addicting.

Some symptoms may include but are not limited to: You have acquired excessive shelving (everywhere) and it’s on your Christmas list; Scissors and a coupon binder are your new “fashion accessories”; Fat wallet syndrome; You started a blog about it; You have gotten coupon binder envy; You have become your local Coupon Fairy; You traded up from your 3 inch binder to a 4 inch double sided Case It Z binder with a strap.  If symptoms last more than 4 weeks you may want to seek a professional home organizer or FlyLady. Also, remember your daily dose of The Katy Coupon Zone for realistic, real world tips to help keep your couponing balanced and under control.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2012 in Tightwad Tips

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Thrift Store Super Find of the Day!

  1. Kathryn Marie

    March 16, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    Haha i love you mom.
    I would love any thing new i could put in my kitchen.
    the thrift shops suck here :/
    i miss kcm!!!

     
    • The Katy Coupon Zone

      March 16, 2012 at 4:23 pm

      I’m sorry California has such slim pickens. I bet if you get in contact with some of the locals, they may be able to tell you where to find the best resale shops. I love you honey!
      Mommy

       

Leave a comment